Fireworks through the Brookings arch

Department of Physics 2021 awards & honors

Congratulations to this year's award winners and honorees

Irene Antony won this year's Varney Prize, awarded to the best students in the introductory courses. Daphne Dai, Jonathan Song and Karinne Summers received Honorable Mentions. Professor Robert Varney was a member of the faculty for many years. This prize was established to commemorate his deep and long-time interest in physics instruction.

Irene Antony, Daphne Dai, Jonathan Song and Karinne Summers

Max Huang was awarded this year's Nishi Luthra Senior Prize for his perfect 4.0 GPA in all physics courses.  The prize is warded to outstanding senior Physics Majors based on performance in physics courses and the winners are selected by the department’s major advisors. 

Max Huang

Max Huang, Ellie Hunt, Asa Kalish and Viktoria Ohstrom were inducted into the Washington University in St. Louis Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society.

Max Huang, Ellie Hunt, Asa Kalish, and Viktoria Ohstrom

Nic Dronchi and Garrett King won this year's Shull Prize. This prize is awarded to the top graduate Assistants in Instruction.

Nic Dronchi and Garrett King

Congratulations to this year's honorees!