Fireworks through the Brookings arch

Department of Physics 2020 awards & honors

Congratulations to this year's award winners and honorees

Alison Almgren-Bell and Yue Cai won this year's Varney Prize, awarded to the best students in the introductory courses. Blake Bal and Mark Wang received Honorable Mentions. Professor Robert Varney was a member of the faculty for many years. This prize was established to commemorate his deep and long-time interest in physics instruction.

Kian Dahlberg and Sami Pathak were awarded this year's Nishi Luthra Senior Prize.  The prize is warded to outstanding senior Physics Majors based on performance in physics courses and the winners are selected by the department’s major advisors. 

Kian Dahlberg, Royce Dong, Scott Hershberger, Sami Pathak, Jason Tang, and Jenny Tian were inducted into the Washington University in St. Louis Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society.

Jonah Hoffman won this year's Shull Prize. This prize is awarded to the top graduate Assistants in Instruction.

Congratulations to this year's honorees!